Anki and Baroque

For now, read these posts with a grain of salt. 

Today, I had the pleasure of catching up with my best friend who also attends medical school. If my sidearm is MPH, then his is MBA. Or at least he hopes to in the future. I am the type of friend who encourages expeditions of sorts and new objectives in life when I can fathom the potential. I don’t really have to shoot down people’s ideas because the society will naturally filter out the possibilities of occurrence. You can only do harm when you encourage deleterious behaviors or statistically improbable obsessions such as buying lottery tickets or pulling on a slot machine with the expectation of making a steady income from it.

There is a saying that goes, Give a Man a Fish, and You Feed Him for a Day. Teach a Man To Fish, and You Feed Him for a Lifetime (Source: quoteinvestigator.com/2015/08/28/fish/). The reality is that you also have to teach a person what kind of fish to catch. In other words, a good counsel should involve substantial directions and suggestions.

So I suggested that he start out with the very basics of economics before delving into business. The Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith seemed like an appropriate first choice. Would you all agree? It is like reading Gray’s Anatomy for medical students or like reading On the Origin of Species for biologists. As a matter of fact, The Wealth of Nations is on my 2017 reading list. I also suggested that he seriously consider an MBA if he is serious about developing business models in the medical field.

Today, I want to talk about Anki and Baroque.

Before I begin, I just wanted to remind the fact that these so to speak experiments carry no actual significance. There is only sample! That is myself. I’m just exploring new avenues.

Anki is a spaced repetition flashcard program (Source: Wikipedia)

I found out about this software by chance as I was searching online for methods to improve my studying skills. I am still learning how to use this program effectively. I am interested to see if I perceive an improvement in my learning experience. An improvement should naturally translate to good grades. So improved perception is the primary objective and good grade is the secondary objective that is as important as the primary.

Next is baroque. I really enjoy listening to Bach. According to one study: Baroque Classical Music In The Reading Room May Improve Mood And Productivity, “The greatest positive effects were noted with regard to mood and work satisfaction, with 63% and 50% of respondents reporting a positive impact.”
(American Roentgen Ray Society. (2009, April 26). Baroque Classical Music In The Reading Room May Improve Mood And Productivity. ScienceDaily. Retrieved January 4, 2017 from http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2009/04/090423132615.htm)

I have no comment regarding the validity of this study. I find it amusing. To be honest, I expect information bias anytime I conduct an experiment as this on myself. Nonetheless, I am still interested to see if there is a change in perception when I only listen to baroque music during my study hours.

But how do you measure change if there is no baseline? I can’t really serve as a control myself because I can’t relive the experience of learning new materials or retake an exam or risk the possibility of performing at less-than-maximum potential. I can recall my past experiences but that has recall bias written all over. Recalling, however, seems to be the only option.

Leave a Reply

