First exam results

Figure 1. Results of my 1st med school exam

bpm11

I’ve been away for the past three weeks because I had to prepare for my first exam. I took it yesterday morning and the results just came out. Long story short, I am not satisfied with my result. What can I say. I am firm believer of “you reap what you sow.” Ergo if I had studied perfectly, then I would have received a perfect score. [The score report is about three pages long, but I only cropped out the very top part.]

I don’t care if the class average is an 80 or a 50 because my success in med school is solely based on my performance. In other words, there is no curve. I don’t have to put down others to succeed. There is no blame game to play. There is no need to be a gunner. But I have to bear all the weight of failure, which is totally fine. I like to take responsibility for my own actions and mistakes.

Naturally, I like to conduct a post-exam analysis with every exam so that I may improve for my next exam (in two and a half weeks). The actual post-exam analysis will be posted this weekend.

Obviously, there needs to be some kind of improvement in the way I approach the exam. I always used to tell my tutor students that there are two ways to improve your performance on an exam: 1. studying smarter before the actual exam (studying skills) 2. making better decisions during the actual exam (test-taking skills).

The five questions that I have missed on the exam could be attributed to either reasons. I remember there were about the same amount of questions, which I had narrowed down to two answer choices. In reality, it could have been a question that I was certain about although the chances of that occurrence are less likely.

As you can see in the figure, I need improvement in the subject of genetics. I feel like I’m comfortable with genetics, but I know I’m not the best. That I admit. I don’t even remember how I did on genetics on the MCAT. I just know that biochemistry is my strong suit, which was reflected on my MCAT (97th percentile on chemical foundations). But strong suits are strong suits… you also need to know how to play the bad hands. That’s what separates a good poker player from one who only knows how to bet on an Ace-King. I need to know how to play my genetics cards for the next exam and throughout med school.

I would appreciate any help/advice on how to best tackle medical genetics in the comments section below, thank you! 

Fortunately, I was able to recall two questions for which I’ve chosen the wrong answers. They both were minute details that I had overlooked aka “low yield.” Foolish move I must say… foolish move. I suppose for my next exam, I should try to store all information including minute ones or somehow improve my decision-making skills since they were both narrowed down to two choices.

Today, I just wanted to update my blog. This weekend, I intend to discuss about my study approach for this past exam and potential novel tactics for the next one. Cheers!

2 thoughts on “First exam results

Leave a Reply

